Digital Storytelling

A few days ago I mentioned that I’m presenting a workshop for UWA Extension on Digital Storytelling called ‘200 Words, 12 photos and 2 minutes’. Turns out I’m also one of the poster children for the new season of workshops too and will be appearing in print advertising – today in the West Australian and in The Post in the future. I do feel that I need to get out there and sell this workshop as digital storytelling can be a difficult concept to explain.

As I am also offering this workshop to museums, libraries and local government organisations I also need to promote it to them. One of the ways I’m doing this is by presenting at the Museums Australia (WA) State Conference in Kalgoorlie next month. I’m just doing a one hour workshop to introduce people to the concept and telling them about what they can do with the medium. I’ve had some brochures printed (you can download the PDF Digital Storytelling – Jen Griffiths here). That’s pretty exciting too.

I made this digital story to show at the conference workshop. Technically it isn’t a digital story because I didn’t participate collaboratively in a group to develop the idea, but you’ll have to forgive me for that.

I tried really hard to embed this video here but it won’t work for me and I don’t know why!! I have to head off now to a museum for a site visit. Just click on ‘Goldfields Girl’ to view.

Goldfields Girl from Jen Griffiths on Vimeo.

If you’re in Perth in October and you’d like to make your own digital story, go here to book!

Leave a Reply

