Historian…a day in the life

Yesterday was one of the best kind of ‘Historian at work’ days. I thought I’d tell it in pictures, rather than words…

I caught the train (at a just-after-peak-hour-time)

and read my book while waiting (I said I was thinking about backyards a lot)

Arrived in Perth

Headed for the State Library building

and veered off to the tiny corner that is the State Records Office

Where there were a heap of files waiting for me

like health inspections of school toilets (regularly revolting!)

I took a break for lunch (in the glorious sunshine)

Then back inside to the dreaded microfilm

Many hours later I headed back to the train and home

Picked up my doggy!

And went for a walk at the river (I can’t believe how green it is in this shot!)

So, that was my day – lots of time with archives and lots of fun. Today it is writing and visiting a site – all good.

Leave a Reply

